The Adventures of a Freelance Writer and Editor

Working from home is great. I create my own schedule. I can work in my pajamas. I can listen to music really loud (and occasionally do a little dance to “stretch my legs”). BUT, working from home can also get lonely. I’m home alone all day, unless I decide to go work at a coffee shop or book store. Sometimes it is beneficial to get out of house and talk to strangers. Since I have no “coworkers,” I have to create and maintain different relationships (aka lunch dates with friends, small talk over coffee with strangers, and long distance phone and internet connections).

As you may know, I’ve been working with a nonprofit organization called Cystic Fibrosis Worldwide. This project fits perfectly with my career goals (writing and working from home). However, that also means working with and for people I’ve never meet in person. This week I had the pleasure of becoming “friends” with my “coworkers” on facebook. Now, I can finally put a face to their name and learn a little about the people I communicate with every day. This simple activity makes me feel more invested in my work. I’m no longer working for strangers but  for people with hobbies and pets.

So, here is my advice for the day. Get to know the people you work with. Whether you spend all day sitting in the cubicle next to each other or you are on the other side of the country, it is beneficial to know the the people you work with. You will have more respect for each other, and if nothing else, you will have a way to fill that awkard silence that starts every phone call or meeting.

Leave a Reply

