The Adventures of a Freelance Writer and Editor

The $60 Office

I recently decided a professional writer deserves a professional workspace. I visualized a beautiful wooden desk with drawers for all my pens and papers and shelves for all my books. What I didn’t realize was that a wooden desk with a hutch costs $500 or more, and that doesn’t  include a new chair.

Disappointed by this discovery, I decided to hold off on the desk. I had survived  at the kitchen table  this long, I could wait I few months to save up the money for a new desk.

Then my luck changed. While browsing a local thrift store (I love bargains and old stuff), I discovered the perfect desk. Wooden with a hutch and a chair with a high back for only 60 bucks. That is right 60 bucks.

Needless to say, I rushed to the cash register and got a sold tag. The rest of the day was quite an adventure… trying to back up a truck I never drive, trying to figure out how to get the desk up two flights of stairs before a thunderstorm, and figuring which drawer should be for paper and which books I should put on the shelves… but in the end, I got my professional workspace for less than $100. Now, I’m even more motivated to sit down and write.

What motivates you? I’d love to hear your tips for staying motivated (especially if they are budget friendly).

Leave a Reply

