The Adventures of a Freelance Writer and Editor

When I was in high school, I didn’t believe the cliché “If you love what you do, you will never work a day in your life.” Instead, I was convinced that unless you were Oprah or some other superstar, you were destined to hate your job. I wasn’t excited about college because I didn’t want a stuffy, grown up job. I hate driving, so I didn’t want to commute. I work best barefoot and half-dressed, so I didnt’ want to wear a suit. And, while I love to socialize and I get some of my best ideas from others, I do my best work alone.

When I was in high school, I didn’t realize that people could make a living writing, and I definitely didn’t know that people could work from home. After a lot of independent research, I finally stumbled upon my dream career— freelance writing and editing. Every since I was a little girl, I have loved to write. I use to “publish” fake magazines, and I was always writing in my journal. Some days I was writing short stories. Other days I was writing poetry, and plenty of days I just wrote down observations. It didn’t matter what I was writing; I just loved to write.

I started freelancing last spring. I wasn’t sure I could make it work. I read plenty of books and articles by people who make a decent living as freelancers, but I doubted that I could do it. Why would anyone want to hire me? Yet, I am one of those people who when I set a goal for myself, I do whatever I have to to achieve it. So I started small. While I am nowhere near my goal yet, everyday I get a little closer. Six months ago, I would have never guessed that I would be writing grants as well as guest blogging for three clients.

This week, I wrote three posts for Music by Design (Wedding Butterfly Release,Butterfly Themed Weddings, and Wedding Wishing Lanterns). When I wrote the three posts, I didn’t feel like I was working. I was getting paid to do what I love — write. Plus, I was lucky to be able to write on a topic that interests me. (I am a little obsessed with weddings.)

So, here is my thought of the day: whatever you love, do it. You will be a happier person everyday.

Leave a Reply

