The Adventures of a Freelance Writer and Editor

WriteOnCon Day 1

Today was the first day of WriteOnCon, a free online conference for children’s writers. At first I felt a little guilty for spending the day “playing” online instead of doing paid work, but I am glad I did. I got a lot of great advice from industry experts and other writers. I also got to read some great work by other children’s writers. I rationalized the day by telling myself that even though it didn’t feel like I was working (and I wasn’t getting paid) one day it will hopefully pay off when I have a published book to brag about. This new perspective made  me decide to go easy on the freelance work (and household chores) this week to enjoy this once a year event. After all, maybe it will take me down a road I never dreamed off; life is funny that way.

Leave a Reply

