The Adventures of a Freelance Writer and Editor

My work can be broken down into two categories: paid and unpaid. On a good day, I am researching, brainstorming, writing, and editing for a paid project (usually blogs, grants, copyediting, or copywriting). On a slow day, I’m usually researching, brainstorming, writing, and editing about my business aka marketing and learning. Although this aspect of my business doesn’t “pay,” the goal is to land new clients and improve my skills; both of which are essential to a successful business and ultimately need to financial rewards.

Today was one of those “non-paying” days. I took a break from my “paying” projects to hone my skills and improve my marketing. I spent the afternoon attending a webinar titled Winning Grants by CharityHowTo. Every month, I research, write, and submit grants for Cystic Fibrosis Worldwide, and I recently researched grants for Lights Camera Learn. Hopefully, I will have the opportunity to write and submit grants for Lights Camera Learn as well as other nonprofit organizations.

Since I work with grants on a regular basis, I thought it would be beneficial to participate in this webinar. I did pick up a few helpful strategies, but overall, I was disappointed in the service. After spending $80 on the webinar, I had a poor audio connection and left the webinar after 30 minutes. (It was supposed to be an hour and a half.) I’m not sure if it was my computer or the webinar itself. I would love to hear from others who attended the webinar. Did you have audio trouble? Were you pleased with the content?

Also, if anyone can recommend any useful resources for grant writers (books, websites, courses), I am always looking to improve my skills.

The rest of the day I spent reading The Zen of Social Media Marketing: An Easier Way to Build Credibility, Generate Buzz, and Increase Revenue by Shama Hyder Kabani. I frequently use social media to market my personal business as well as my client’s businesses. I recently started a new project updating Mita Production’s Facebook, so I wanted to learn more about social media marketing. So far, I really enjoy social media marketing, and I would love to find more clients who need help in this area. If you or anyone you know could use this service, please let me know. I am always looking for referrals.

As always, here is my most recently published posts. More coming soon. Cheers!

Why the “From” Line is Important to Email Marketers

How to Decorate Your Wedding Cake with Fresh Flowers

Seven Ideas to Steal from Twilight Inspired Movies… Even If You Aren’t a Twihard

The Importance of Illustrations

Color Printing Vs. Black and White Printing

Comments on: "Grants and Social Media… Just Another Day on the Job" (5)

  1. My step-son had cystic fibrosis. He died almost 20 years ago. Do you have a family link with the illness? I tried clicking on the link for Cystic Fibrosis Worldwide but it would work.

  2. Sorry that should have read ‘…it wouldn’t work’

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your step-son. I don’t have a family link to the illness, but I’ve always been a fan of nonprofits and organizations that help others. I will fix the hyperlink, but CFW’s website is http://www.cfww.org.

  4. I wrote grants in a past life, but my resources would be very much out of date now. Isn’t the non-profit world so rewarding? Good luck with those grants!

  5. Brooke, working with nonprofits is amazing.

Leave a Reply

