The Adventures of a Freelance Writer and Editor

New Blog Post Schedule

Last spring, I took a course on writing for the web, and the instructor suggested that blogs should be posted on a schedule. Apparently, readers like to know when to expect certain content. When I first started my blog (which was originally a class assignment), I was reluctant to set a schedule. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to write about, so I definitely wasn’t ready to commit to a writing schedule. After a few months of posting, I’ve noticed a trend in my posts and writing and editing projects, and I am ready to announce my new posting schedule. Drum roll, please…

Miscellaneous Monday: This is to ease my inner free spirit that hates schedules. I still have one day a week that allows me write about anything I want.

Wedding Wednesday: I’ve been doing a lot of blogging for businesses in the wedding industry. (I’m obsessed with all things wedding.) On Wednesdays, I will share posts to my recent work as well as other fun wedding related information and resources I stumble upon.

Food Friday: I love food and cooking. Although it has slowed down, I was doing a lot of projects/blogs related to food. On Fridays, I will share links to recent posts, recipes, and other food related information and resources.

Saturday Morning Reading and Writing: You would think that I would take a break from reading and writing on the weekends since I write and edit for a living, but it is my passion. I love Saturday mornings when I can lounge around with a cup of coffee and a good book or notepad. So on Saturdays, I will share writing advice and news as well as book reviews.

Be sure to subscribe to my blog, so you don’t miss a post. Thanks for visiting!

Comments on: "New Blog Post Schedule" (2)

  1. I resisted a schedule for ages too but I’ve actually found it easier to organise my blogging and my thoughts since I set one up. I’ve found my traffic numbers have increased with a regular schedule too.

  2. As a reader, I sort of like to know if there is a schedule, especially if the blogger doesn’t give me an opportunity to receive email updates. I receive yours, so that’s how I saw this post. Setting my own schedule helps me stay focused and plan ahead. Good luck with your schedule. I also “liked” you. I still have never been able to get my husband to “like” my page.

Leave a Reply

