The Adventures of a Freelance Writer and Editor

Usually, I am all for homemade treats. Whenever possible, I avoid processed foods.  I don’t want to eat ingredients I can’t pronounce. I know that homemade is usually cheaper than a pre-made, but sometimes, 100% homemade just isn’t possible.

Last weekend, I had a birthday party for one of my best friends. I didn’t want to spend $20 on a store made cake, and I didn’t want to be the woman who showed up to the party with a dessert in a grocery store container. However, I didn’t have time to make a homemade cake from scratch. I settled for a box cake and pre-made frosting, and I fell in with this Betty Crocker Decorative Icing.

One of the best inventions ever!

Even though the ingredients came from a box, the finished product had the character of a homemade cake. Plus, I had fun playing baker for a few minutes. Check out my master piece!

 

Leave a Reply

